Author Topic: ScreenOS 5.4.0r3  (Read 16413 times)

Idefix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
ScreenOS 5.4.0r3
« on: December 13, 2006, 09:47:43 am »
Hi everybody,
does anyone know when ScreenOS 5.4.0r3 will be released?

--
Idefix


Tim Eberhard

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 302
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ScreenOS 5.4.0r3
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2006, 02:14:19 am »
Jan of 07.
JNCIS-FWV, JNCIS-M, C|EH, CCSP
Author of Netscreen Session Analyzer:
http://performanceclassifieds.net/NSSA.zip
TPCAT

paedi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
ScreenOS 5.4.0r3
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2007, 08:43:15 am »
Hi Idefix

I was told by a Netscreen engineer that the ScreenOS will be released as following:

5.3r7 end of February 2007

5.4r3 mid of February 2007 -> recommended for test env.
5.4r4 end of February 2007 -> ready for productive env.

cheers

Paedi

In /dev/null no one can hear you scream
---------------------------------------



mwdmeyer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Bluetrait
Re: ScreenOS 5.4.0r3
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2007, 05:48:52 pm »

Tim Eberhard

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 302
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ScreenOS 5.4.0r3
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2007, 05:52:11 pm »
JNCIS-FWV, JNCIS-M, C|EH, CCSP
Author of Netscreen Session Analyzer:
http://performanceclassifieds.net/NSSA.zip
TPCAT

sebastan_bach

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 349
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ScreenOS 5.4.0r3
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2007, 02:24:42 am »
the new 5.40r3 release does not have much new features in it. but rather solves a lot of bugs in that os. but still there are many bugs left with no workarounds in them. i thought the r3 release will be a purely bug fixing release. with solving many bugs i guesswe will have to wait for 5.40r4 release to get rid of bugs.

couldn;t there be a release with no bugs in it.

hahahah.

regards

sebastan






 


mmuessig

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 252
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ScreenOS 5.4.0r3
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2007, 03:25:36 am »
Today, ScreenOS5.4.0r3 is released!

Regards
Markus Muessig
Security Engineer (CCSE, QCS, MCP, JNCIA)

muppet

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 211
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I Like Beer
    • View Profile
    • LiCe for EPIC5
Re: ScreenOS 5.4.0r3
« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2007, 12:03:49 am »
I think I've found a bug in 5.4.0r3 already!

It seems that I can't login the webui via HTTPS anymore, it just keeps acting like I got the wrong password.

Logging in via HTTP plain works fine though.  Strange.

Anyone else seen this?  I'm on a 5GT btw.

muppet

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 211
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I Like Beer
    • View Profile
    • LiCe for EPIC5
Re: ScreenOS 5.4.0r3
« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2007, 12:25:25 am »
Well, after playing with certificates, it seems now to work. Still very werid though...

omega

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ScreenOS 5.4.0r3
« Reply #9 on: February 03, 2007, 01:11:17 am »
Same WEBUI-Problem hier with an netscreen-50.
Please tell me more detailed how to resolve this.

Thanks

omega

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ScreenOS 5.4.0r3
« Reply #10 on: February 03, 2007, 01:19:49 am »
strange, after waiting a while (longer than normal) access was possible....
Hope this works more than once.

muppet

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 211
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I Like Beer
    • View Profile
    • LiCe for EPIC5
Re: ScreenOS 5.4.0r3
« Reply #11 on: February 03, 2007, 01:29:37 am »
Yea, I just rebooted again and now it's broken.

I think if I wait for 10-20 minutes it'll work again.

I say this because when I went out shopping with my GF this morning, it was broken, but when I got back it was working.

A reboot broke it again, now changing certs and other things that I thought fixed it haven't.  I think it's a bug!  I will test it again in a few hours and I'll bet it works...

oldo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 496
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ScreenOS 5.4.0r3
« Reply #12 on: February 03, 2007, 08:10:03 am »
Tried 5.4.0r3 on a SSG5 and SSG20. Both of these run fine with regards to SSL (HTTPS). Haven't had the time to see if SNMP still is broken...
JNCIA-FW, JNCIA-AC, JNCIS-SSL, Ironport ICSP, xSeries Specialist,

spingineer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ScreenOS 5.4.0r3
« Reply #13 on: February 03, 2007, 08:44:08 am »
I tried with https and I have no problems.  This is using the self-signed certs, and with Firefox 2.  Also tried with IE6, and it works fine.

junipoint

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ScreenOS 5.4.0r3
« Reply #14 on: February 05, 2007, 09:13:27 am »
I just upgraded an SSG520 and a a 5GT and can't login to the web interface using https, http works fine.(IE6 and firefox 2.0). I opened a case on it. Bugs like these are starting to make me wonder where ScreenOS is headed...if they can't QA something as simple as the WebUI on a new release.......what else should we expect?

melibokus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ScreenOS 5.4.0r3
« Reply #15 on: February 05, 2007, 12:41:51 pm »
Has anyone viewed the self-signed cert that is being generated to look at the timestamp? I wonder if the cert is being created with a timestamp one hour in the future.....

I tried to load 5.4.0r3 onto an SSG5 and it failed the first time. Possibly because I'm upgrading from an engineering release.. not quite sure.

JWS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ScreenOS 5.4.0r3
« Reply #16 on: February 06, 2007, 01:29:07 am »
I just upgraded my SSG5 from r2 to r3 and I have the problem you are describing.

Has anyone found a solution?

muppet

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 211
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I Like Beer
    • View Profile
    • LiCe for EPIC5
Re: ScreenOS 5.4.0r3
« Reply #17 on: February 06, 2007, 01:49:26 am »
There's no solution I can find, nope.

I agree with what junipoint said, I just can't understand how you can cock something so simple up.

I am still back down at 5.3 because for me it's "bug free"

junipoint

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ScreenOS 5.4.0r3
« Reply #18 on: February 06, 2007, 01:57:14 am »
well, there is a workaround I discovered, it's silly, but here goes:

Admin the Netscreen by console, ssh or http, then:

1. enable http->https redirect
2. ensure web manage is enabled on your management interfaces along with ssl
3. connect to the Netscreen using http, you will get redirected to https and then logon normally.
4. try connecting again, this time with just https:// (viola!..it works)

if you reset the Netscreen you have to repeat steps 3 and 4 again.

Engineering is going to look pretty stupid with this one....expect a fix very soon.

JWS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ScreenOS 5.4.0r3
« Reply #19 on: February 07, 2007, 07:55:59 am »
Hi

I had this up with Tier2 and they found out that it's an error. A workaround is to disable TLS1 in IE advanced settings.