Author Topic: VLAN setup with routing via SSG5 is this setup correct?  (Read 5548 times)

xenos2011

• View Profile
VLAN setup with routing via SSG5 is this setup correct?
« on: July 27, 2011, 07:21:42 am »
Hi there, I need expert help on VLAN's (HP procurve 2810 switches) and routing of VLAN traffic via our Juniper SSG5 firewall. I am a beginner when it comes to routing/firewalls and VLAN's. This is probably a pretty simple setup for most of you...

We are a separate organization apart from the rest of the company.
Our building/organization has a Juniper SSG-5 firewall that is also connected via a
fiber converter to the rest of the company. On our LAN we have a windows domain called:
REED.LOCAL, the workstations that are part of the Default VLAN are members of this domain.

On our LAN we have 3 switches, 2 HP Procurve 2810 and a Cisco Linksys switch.
On the 3 switches I want to have 2 VLAN's made available, CSC and APC, the equipment on
these VLAN's will NOT be a member of my REED.LOCAL domain. All of them are as expected in their own subnet.

My idea is this:
To have one of the Procurve switches as the "MAIN SWITCH" and
uplink the 2 other switches to this "MAIN SWITCH", the servers on my LAN will be on the "MAIN SWITCH".
For routing between the VLAN's we have the Juniper SSG5 firewall.
I want only the "MAIN SWITCH" to have an uplink cable to the firewall that should
function as a router for the VLAN's that are active on all of my switches and also for my internet traffic etc.

I want the VLAN's on all the different switches to be able to route using the firewall