Author Topic: DX - Health Checking  (Read 2535 times)

gordonban

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
DX - Health Checking
« on: February 20, 2008, 08:20:45 pm »
Hello everyone,

I am having some trouble with the health checking feature, when I enable Connect Check (L4 Health Checking), everything works fine. But when I enable Request Check (L7 Health Checking), the L4 health checking fails but the L7 works.

When I go to statistics, L4 fails and L7 passes. Is that the normal behaviour of the DX?

Apreciate your input,

-G
« Last Edit: February 20, 2008, 08:22:51 pm by gordonban »

screenie.

  • Global Moderator
  • Atomic Playboy
  • *****
  • Posts: 1315
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: DX - Health Checking
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2008, 03:04:40 am »
Not standard How could you pass layer7 traffic if layer4 can't?  Double check for typos in IP addresses!
Regards, Screenie
------------------------
JNSS, JNCIA, JNCIS, JNCIP, JNCI

gordonban

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: DX - Health Checking
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2008, 05:45:40 am »
Thanks for your reply. The thing is L4 Health checking is on by default, you cannot disable it. You can only enable/disable L7 health checking (or 'request check' as the WEBUI calls it)

L4 health checking ('connection check') works fine, but when I enable L7 health checking, and I got to statistics, I c that all L4 has fialed but L7 has passed.

-G

screenie.

  • Global Moderator
  • Atomic Playboy
  • *****
  • Posts: 1315
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: DX - Health Checking
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2008, 07:08:16 am »
I'll have to simulate that, but that could take a while! Anybody else how can check this?
Regards, Screenie
------------------------
JNSS, JNCIA, JNCIS, JNCIP, JNCI